Seoul Guided Walking Tour for Vietnam

Changdeokgung (Changdeok Palace)

Tickets & Offers Seoul Guided Walking Tour for Vietnam

Walking Tour Introduction
Designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997
This walking tour takes visitors around Changdeokgung (Changdeok Palace), the second grand palace of the Joseon Dynasty, built in 1405 by King Taejong (the 3rd king of the Joseon Dynasty). In 1592 the main palace, Gyeongbokgung, was completely destroyed by fire during the Japanese Invasion of Korea and Changdeokgung became the home of the Joseon court for 270 years. Changdeokgung was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List as being an outstanding example of Far Eastern palace architecture and garden design, exceptional for the way in which the buildings are integrated into and harmonized with the landscape.
Closed : Mondays
Walking Tour Details
Route
Donhwamun (Main Gate) -> Injeongjeon (Throne Hall) -> Seonjeongjeon (Hall) -> Huijeongdang (King’s Private Residence /King's Conference Hall) -> Daejojeon (Hall) -> Nakseonjae (Pavilion) -> Donhwamun (Main Gate)


Length of tour : 2~2hours 30 minutes

Meeting Place : Ticket booth by the main entrance of Changdeokgung

Transportation : Take subway line 3 to Anguk Station. Go out exit 3 and walk 5 minutes.
※ Experience programs offered by museums are not included in the walking tour. Participation in experience programs must be done individually once the tour is over.

giveaway event


Major Tourist Attractions
Donhwamun (Main Gate)
The main palace gate, Donhwamun was initially constructed in 1412 (during the 12th year of King Taejong's reign), but was burned down during the Japanese Invasion of Korea of 1592 and was restored in 1609 (during the 1st year of Prince Gwanghae's reign), making it the oldest main gate of all royal palace gates in existence today. It is also the largest of all palace gates.
Injeongjeon (Throne Hall)
The throne hall of Changdeok Palace, Injeongjeon was where important state affairs such as the coronations of kings, meetings with officials, receptions of foreign envoys and royal banquets were held. Originally built in 1405, it was rebuilt in 1610 after being burned down during the Japanese Invasion of Korea in 1592, and a third time in 1804 after being destroyed by a fire.
Nakseonjae (Pavilion)
Nakseonjae was built in 1847 (in the 13th year of King Heonjong's reign). Nakseonjae served as King Heonjong's study, or sarangchae. The interior is characterized by beautiful colorful lattice work.
Map of Walking Tour Route