The Cheonggyecheon Museum was established in September 2005 to commemorate the completion of the Cheonggyecheon Restoration Project, a two-year restoration process that played a pivotal role in Seoul's future vision of an environment-friendly urban space. The museum offers visitors the chance to learn about the stream's turbulent history, from being buried underground to being restored.
Closed : Mondays & January 1st
Phone : +82-2-2286-3410
Website : http://www.cgcm.go.kr
Across the street from the museum is a reproduction of the destitute village homes that used to be dotted along the banks of the Cheonggyecheon in the 1950s and 1960s. Visitors can also see an old comic book store, little hole-in-the-wall stores and several items and pieces that date back from that time period.
Hours : Tues, Wed, Thurs & Sun 10 a.m. - 6 p.m., Fri & Sat 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Phone : +82-2-2290-6114
Literally meaning the “bridge where two waters (“dumul” in Korean) meet,” Dumuldari (Bridge) is located where two branches of Cheonggyecheon met in the past. The shape of the bridge also reflects the meaning of the bridge name.
As one of the most famous bridges along the Cheonggyecheon along with Gwangtonggyo, Supyogyo was built in 1420 (the 2nd year of King Sejong). At that time, the bridge was called “Majeongyo,” as it was near a horse market (“majeon” in Korean). It was renamed “Supyogyo” when a water marker was erected beside the bridge in 1441 (the 23rd year of King Sejong) to measure the water level of Cheonggyecheon.
Muhakgyo (Bridge) was named after the famous Buddhist monk “Muhak,” who accompanied Yi Seong-Gye, the founder of the Joseon Dynasty, when he traveled around to find an ideal place for the capital and decided to move the capital to Wangsimni area, the area where Muhak-ro ends.
The name of this bridge came from Yu Gwan, a leading upright government official during the reign of King Sejong in the Joseon Dynasty, who lived near this bridge. Literally meaning “to protect against rain,” “biudang” comes from the anecdote that tells that Yu was upright enough to open an umbrella even in his room on a rainy day.
The name of this bridge originates from the legend that yellow cranes were found in this area ("hwanghak" means yellow crane in Korean).
Seoul Folk Flea Market is the largest flea market in Korea. The market sells typical Korean items, everyday goods, souvenirs, traditional goods and traditional food, allowing visitors to enjoy shopping and eating all under one roof. These days, the market has become one of the city's main attractions among local people as well as overseas visitors. Seoul Folk Flea Market is filled with Korean traditional goods and foods that reflect the simpler lifestyle of Koreans in times past.
Hours : 10 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Phone : +82-2-2232-3367
Website : http://pungmul.seoul.go.kr/