Royal Tombs of the Joseon Dynasty

  Seoul Nowon-gu Hwarang-ro 727  

See & Do Attractions


Registered as a UNESCO World Heritage site in June 2009, the Royal Tombs of the Joseon Dynasty refers to the tombs of kings and queens of many generations of the Joseon Dynasty, which lasted 518 years from 1392. There are a total of 40 royal tombs all over the country, and two in North Korea, although they are yet to be designated by UNECSO. These tombs, which remain intact, are uniquely historic sites amongst royal tombs. Their value is further enhanced when one considers not only the completeness of each individual royal tomb, but the fact that, over many generations, all the tombs of kings and queens who led the dynasty of an era have been preserved. 
Opened in December 2009, the Royal Tomb Museum of the Joseon Dynasty is situated at the entrance of Taegangneung (Tomb). At the museum, visitors can see at a glance the history of the royal tombs of the Joseon Dynasty. The museum interprets the history, culture and art of the Joseon-era royal tombs, such as state funeral procedures from the demise of a king up to the burial; the history and ideology which were incorporated in the royal tombs; and the stewardship of the royal tombs, including a ritual ceremony for a new yet-to-be-named tomb before a state funeral. These features are displayed through various exhibition media, such as panels, models and visuals.


See map

Directions Details
버스도착정보 안내
버스 번호 도착 정보
  Seoul Nowon-gu Hwarang-ro 727  
Line 1 Seokgye From Exit 6, Seokgye Station, Subway Line 1, or Exit 7