Construction for the Central Temple of Cheondogyo, the head temple for the religion of Cheondo, started in December 1918 and finished in February 1921. Its foundation was proposed by Son Byeong-hee. The temple is t-shaped building with a Baroque-style roof featuring a 4-story steeple, with influences of Vienna Secession in its overall architectural design
Originally a residential palace for Bak Yeonghyo, a member of the royal family before being converted into a museum, the Kyungin Museum of Fine Art was founded in 1983 and it is renowned as a cultural space for artists and tourists from home and abroad. Famous for its blend of modern and traditional elements, it is comprised of five main exhibition halls, an atelier gallery, an outdoor gallery, an outdoor stage and a beautiful sculpture garden that surrounds a traditional teahouse (Dawon).
Closed : New Year's Day, Seollal, Chuseok
Hours : 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Website : http://www.kyunginart.co.kr
Opened in 2004, Ssamzie-gil is a new traditional culture and shopping complex. Located within the traditional area of Insadong, it continues with the traditions of the area while blending in modern style and convenient facilities. For instance, Ssamzie-gil’s footpath runs from the first floor to the rooftop, circling around a courtyard like a spiral, reminiscent of an alleyway in Insadong. Lining the path are about 70 shops, including small workshops on the first floor which are original workshops from Insadong even before Ssamzie-gil was constructed. Meanwhile its book cafés, galleries and traditional experience programs help create a cultural complex.
Jogyesa is the head temple of the Jogye Order and of Korean Buddhism. Jogye is the representative order of Korean Seon (Zen) Buddhism, and as the head temple of the largest sect of Korean Buddhism, it is also the grandest in design. Built in 1910, it was first named Gakhwangsa by Buddhist priests Han Yong-wun and Yi Hoe-gwang, was called Taegosa during the Japanese colonial period of Korea, and finally named Jogyesa in 1954. Daeungjeon (Hall) is the main hall of the temple, its majestic size often compared to that of the halls of the grand palaces, and the frames of its paper sliding doors are decorated with a beautiful flower designs that are particularly famous. With these artistic features, Daeungjeon is highly praised for its splendid and elaborate design. Jogyesa is also home of the Baeksong, a white pine tree which stands next to Daeungjeon, designated Natural Monument No. 9 in Korea.
Phone : +82-2-732-2115
Website : http://www.jogyesa.kr
Designated as National Treasure No. 2, Bosingak (Belfry) was used during the Joseon Dynasty to keep time. At 4 a.m., the bell was rung 33 times and the city gates were opened, signaling the start of a day, and at 10 p.m., it was rung 28 times and the city gates would close, signaling the end of a day. The bell was also used as a fire alarm. The original bell was originally constructed in 1396 but was destroyed in a fire accident. In 1468 the bell was remade and still exists today, currently being displayed at the National Museum of Korea, as it cannot be rung due to the cracks on its trunk caused by fires and other calamities that occured over a long period of time. The bell that is currently standing at Bosingak was newly cast with contributions from the public. The bell is now only rung 33 times at midnight on New Year’s Eve, an event that thousands of people flock to see in Jongno.